//
you're reading...
Media, Socially Unacceptable, Violence Against Women

Belvedere Vodka Ad: GROSS!

Alright so this ad was brought to my attention a few months ago and I was immediately disturbed. I was in shock of what companies think is ok to do, only support and encourage rape culture, as well as what people allow them to do. I wanted to write about rape culture and this ad instantly came into my mind so I of course went to Google to see what I would find when I typed in the ad. Interesting enough, this search gave me even more anger than I had before. I found exactly what I feared: people who not only thought this ad was funny but people who encouraged this type of “humor”. But let’s start at the beginning, so everyone can know what I am talking about, below is the advertisement put forth by Belvedere Vodka:

Image

In my Google search I found many websites discussing this ad but I clicked on the first which was a bar website, to be honest I was not expecting the most respectful comments and to be frank: I was expecting to be absolutely offended and disgusted. It was a huge surprise as the bar owner wrote an entry about this ad and ultimately said he was offended by the ad and now refused to serve Belvedere Vodka at his bar or any of his events. I thought this was amazing! This was a person who took a stand and refused to support rape culture. But then I scrolled down to the comments that followed…

To say I was horrified is an understatement yet sadly to say I was surprised would be a lie. The comments ranged from “she is clearly choking, this man is a hero!” to “this only made me want to but more Belvedere!” and many others among them. Here is the link to the page: http://boston.barstoolsports.com/around-barstool/belvedere-vodka-under-attack-by-feminists-for-promoting-rape-culture/

I must say that the comments can be offensive and also triggering so I please ask everyone to practice self-care. What took me aback was the society that produced people to feel like they can make “jokes” or comments such as these. What society do we live in that people feel comfortable saying, “If it wasn’t for rape, I’d still be a virgin”…what society is t that we inhibit that has no repercussions for such a thing? And that is what makes me incredibly sad.

Whether it’s a movie, a “joke”, intolerance, ignorance…we all say that rape is NEVER justified. And that is what I saw by the bar owner, even though his page also contained awful comments, his stance was so inspiring and just plain awesome!  And if I am so write this complaint about our society it is my responsibility to change it, it is my responsibility to take a stand. I also believe it is everyone’s responsibility that inhabits this world but I can educate and I can fight so that when people feel like free speech can be used like this, they will think twice.

Everyone can do this. If this ad bothers you, angers you, makes you want to scream…good. It should. Now what are you gonna do about it?

Discussion

One thought on “Belvedere Vodka Ad: GROSS!

  1. That was both interesting likewise as insightful!
    Thank you for sharing your views with us.

    Posted by ecommerce | April 20, 2013, 10:53 pm

Leave a Reply

Causes Worth A Click

Show why you are rising against violence.

Supporting Rape Is NEVER Ok

All Love Is Equal

We All Deserve Comprehensive Sex Education!

Inspiration

